Meet the EMS Team


Effluent Management Systems Ltd (EMS) is one of the most trusted and reliable wastewater management companies in New Zealand. We have 30 Years of practical experience, a willingness to put in the hard yards and a driving desire to seek a better way. Our decisions are rational, sustainable, and always consider the commercial cost.

You, as the client are the beneficiary of this philosophy.

EDIT 1 Steve



Steve Crockford, the owner, and Co-Director of Effluent Management Systems Ltd, QBE (Qualified By Experience)
Technical director of BIOROCK NZ
30 years practical experience.
Plumbing and Drainage qualifications.
Environmental qualifications see Certs & Awards section
Member of Engineering New Zealand.
Inventor of the FlowKing range of environmental products.
And Leader of a hardworking, highly skilled team of individuals who have your best interests at heart.

EDIT 8a Tania


Director & Administration

30 years of business experience and still with a friendly relaxed attitude.
Tania takes care of the administration and ensures that nothing slips through the cracks. Her attention to detail is second to none.
She has a detailed knowledge of regulatory processes and knows how to get through the red tape.
A Co-leader in a very successful business.

EDIT 7 Gaile


Project Co-ordinator

Gaile is first line of contact at EMS.
Co-ordinates projects and assists with EMS administration.

EDIT 2 Matt Toki


EMS Service Technician

An enthusiastic, motivated, and highly skilled team member.

EDIT 4 Matt Duncan


Qualified Fitter / Engineer
EMS installer and service technician.
Drain laying apprentice.

Certification & Awards

  • Craftsman Plumbing & Drainlaying (12382).
  • ENZ Member (254300).
  • Hawke’s Bay Regional Council approved designer, installer, and service provider.
  • Environment and Sustainability Level 5
  • 1999 On-site Wastewater Conference, University of New England, Australia.
  • 2001 Open Polytechnic of New Zealand “A” pass in Environmental Assessment.
  • 2001 Centre for Environmental Training, New Castle University, Australia.
  • 2004 Finalist – Telecom Small Business Awards, Hawke’s Bay.
  • 2005 Winner of Hawke’s Bay Environmental Awards – New Product Achievement of high standards in care of our natural environment.

Thanks to past members

Chris Browne
Ashley Muller
Dillan McMillan
Mark Cooper
Conroy Speedon
Caleb Snee
Todd Bradleigh
Karlyn Lockwood
Ryan Duthie
Trent Balldock
Kerry Gravestock